Skip to product information
1 of 1

Pack of 5 Aravos for Hoshana Rabbah (Hoshanos)

Pack of 5 Aravos for Hoshana Rabbah (Hoshanos)

Regular price $7.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The seventh day of the Jewish holiday of Sukkot, 21st day of Tishrei, is known as Hoshana Rabbah. This day is marked by a special synagogue service, the Hoshana Rabbah, in which seven circuits are made by the worshipers with their Lulav and Etrog, while the congregation recites Hoshanot. It is customary for the scrolls of the Torah to be removed from the ark during this procession. In a few communities a Shofar is sounded after each circuit.

Five willow branches:

At the conclusion of a number of "Piyyutim" (liturgical poems), five willow branches are beaten on the ground or other surface to symbolize the elimination of sin. This is also symbolic as a prayer for rain and success in agriculture. According to the Kabbalah, beating the ground with the five willow branches is done to "Sweeten the Five Severities". There is no blessing said for this ritual, but the Aramaic expression "chabit, chabit velah barich" is chanted.

The Hoshanot will be shipped together with our Lulav and Etrog sets. When you receive them, it is advisable to store in refrigeration so that it will stay fresh.

Monsey Aravos is generally provided but not guaranteed.

Shipping & Returns

We will begin shipping right after Rosh Hashana with your zip code in mind to arrive on time for Sukkot

Care Instructions

You should inspect the contents of your shipment as soon as it is received. The Hadassim (Myrtle) and the Aravot (Willow) should be immediately stored in the refrigerator until the beginning of Sukkot. All other items (Lulav and Etrog) should be stored at room temperature in a cool dry place.

View full details